Thursday, February 20, 2014

Kicking off Another Narrative Writing Unit

Before starting this writing unit I met with my principal to brainstorm some ideas on how to kick it off. He is an excellent curriculum coach and he always seems to know what the best learning approach is. With his advice and a little of my own tweaking we worked on my unit that I created (still creating) from pulling resources from many random places. Most of my inspiration came from Kelly Anne's unit . She has awesome organizational ideas and mini lessons that I can add my own touch to!
I teach writing to twodifferent sections and they are very different groups. I was really surprised how well this went with both of them and both classes came up with different ideas that impressed me.

To start it off I divided kids into groups of 4-5 and gave them each a couple of books with a post it note. I told them all the books in front of them were narrative text and we are going to be looking through them to create a list of what makes them a narrative text. At first they were totally lost so I had to do some prompting. I took them to look at the cover pages and write what they notice, go through the text and write what they see or don't see. I gave them about 5-10 minutes and they created their list. At the end we collected back up as a group and everyone gave their ideas to create our "Master list"... Excuse the sloppiness. I only get about 35-40 minutes with one of my classes and my paper is taped to the wall when I write on it! We waste no time!! And don't worry...These were tossed after we created out master list.. I'm not hanging these up:)


After our discussions, the next day I went back over the other class' list and we talked about any differences that we missed as a whole.
For commonality purposes and to have everything in the same spot I typed up our final checklist. We will be using this throughout our story and during the grading process. You may notice that we put figurative speech in our writing. We are currently learning that in reading so we will be incorporating it into our writing for better understanding. You can download the editable version for yourself here.  After this we worked on creating a character and then pre-writing on a roller coaster format. What do you do to kick off your unit? Please note we did a pre-test writing prompt too:)

8 comments:

Kelly Anne said...

Hooray! I stumbled across your blog today and am so happy to see that you're able to use my unit. it's so important to "make it your own" and work in your classroom! Thank you so much for sharing it :) Happy Narrative Writing!!

XO, Kelly Anne
AppleSlices!

Courtney @ Missthirdgrade.com said...

Thanks again!

Coach Factory said...

michael kors, true religion jeans, nike air max, air max, louboutin, nike air max, polo ralph lauren outlet, oakley sunglasses, prada outlet, ray ban sunglasses, louboutin, prada handbags, longchamp handbags, chanel handbags, oakley sunglasses, michael kors outlet online, true religion, michael kors handbags clearance, coach purses, toms shoes, coach factory, ray ban, louis vuitton outlet online, gucci outlet, michael kors, ray ban sunglasses, jordan shoes, tory burch outlet, burberry outlet online, coach outlet store, true religion outlet, nike shoes, michael kors outlet, nike free, michael kors outlet online, oakley sunglasses, kate spade handbags, louis vuitton handbags, kate spade outlet, longchamp outlet, air max, coach outlet, polo ralph lauren outlet, tiffany and co, cheap michael kors

Coach Factory said...

hollister, marc jacobs, nfl jerseys, abercrombie and fitch, north face jackets, lululemon, vans, giuseppe zanotti, yoga pants, timberland, birkin bag, ray ban pas cher, hermes, nike air max, hollister, beats by dre, ferragamo shoes, new balance shoes, air jordan, babyliss pro, mont blanc, mulberry, nike roshe run, mcm handbags, nike free, louis vuitton, michael kors, longchamp, air max, oakley pas cher, ralph lauren, wedding dresses, louis vuitton, ralph lauren, karen millen, hogan, instyler ionic styler, lancel, supra shoes, juicy couture outlet, louboutin, rolex watches, burberry, reebok outlet, nike free, converse shoes, juicy couture outlet, louis vuitton, montre pas cher, north face outlet

Coach Factory said...

oakley sunglasses outlet, canada goose, oakley vault, asics gel, ghd, oakley sunglasses outlet, canada goose outlet, moncler outlet, cheap oakley sunglasses, moncler, moncler, oakley outlet, valentino shoes, ralph lauren, oakley sunglasses cheap, cheap sunglasses, oakley vault, ugg boots, soccer jerseys, ugg boots, cheap sunglasses, jimmy choo, ugg boots, ray ban, insanity, canada goose, louboutin, oakley vault, soccer shoes, herve leger, canada goose outlet, oakley sunglasses cheap, oakley sunglasses outlet, bottega veneta, p90x3, gucci, cheap oakley sunglasses, canada goose, ugg, moncler, canada goose, cheap oakley sunglasses, chi flat iron, celine handbags, oakley, tn pas cher, oakley outlet, cheap sunglasses, oakley sunglasses cheap

Zhenhong Bao said...

coach outlet
cheap michael kors handbags
juicy couture outlet
true religion jeans
michael kors outlet online
mulberry outlet store
cheap football shirts
tiffany outlet
timberland shoes
michael kors outlet
michael kors factory outlet
prada sneakers
michael kors handbags
christian louboutin outlet
lacoste shirts
michael kors sale
pandora jewelry
soccer jerseys
true religion jeans
jordan shoes
soccer jerseys
basketball shoes,basketball sneakers,lebron james shoes,sports shoes,kobe bryant shoes,kobe sneakers,nike basketball shoes,running shoes,mens sport shoes,nike shoes
snapbacks wholesale
nike air huarache
calvin klein underwear
kobe shoes
louis vuitton bags
lebron shoes
herve leger dresses
hermes belt for sale
cheap nfl jerseys
nike huarache
lebron james shoes
coach outlet online
basketball shoes
20160315zhenhong

chenlina said...

chenlina20160322
replica watches
tod's shoes
longchamp le pliage
tiffany and co
louboutin femme
jordans for sale
abercrombie & fitch
coach outlet
kobe 9
longchamp handbags
michael kors outlet
abercrombie and fitch
louis vuitton purses
coach factory outlet online
coach outlet store
michael kors outlet
oakley sunglasses
coach outlet online
ugg boots outlet
prada outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
cheap jordans
coach factorty outlet online
toms outlet
coach factory outlet online
cheap nfl jerseys
true religion outlet
coach outlet store online
ralph lauren
gucci outlet online
michael kors handbags
ralph lauren outlet
canada goose outlet
coach factory outlet
louis vuitton outlet
ugg for cheap
canada goose jackets
insanity workout
nike blazers uk
adidas wings
as

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com